NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What I noticed cleaning eyepieces

Hi everyone

I’m very new to telescopes in general but have bought some BST Starguiders. Sadly the two times I’ve gone out they’ve dewed up completely, which I never realised was a problem, but left a fair amount of residue behind. I also accidentally thumb printed one (silly me).

Anyway, I have some baader wonder fluid and started cleaning them. I watched videos but what I noticed was there would always be a residue from the cleaning solution left behind. What fixed it for me was letting dry for 10 seconds or so, then going through meticulously drying it up with cue tips (cotton buds). It felt wrong at first but I kept circling each area until it was clear and that seemed to work a treat, rather than just letting it air dry. I’m sure 99% of you won’t even have this problem, but for whatever reason I’m crap at cleaning things and not leaving streaks (mirrors especially) so if you’re anything like me, try this out.

Also, feel free to share any of your cleaning routines, I’d love to hear them and get more advice! 

Having some element of “dirt”, whether that be eyelash grease on the EP will have little if any impact on the views. Best to use a bulb blower to get rid of particles of dirt, prior to any cleaning. Best of all, avoid cleaning unless it is likely to etch the coatings, i.e. bird poop

I clean mine on average once a year or maybe less. As Ian says above a little grime will not have a hugely noticeable difference on your performance, hence my infrequent cleans.

As for mirrors, I have only once cleaned a mirror, the said mirror was something of a dust magnet though.