Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Tutorial for ASI Studio and photography basics

Hi folks,

I'm very unfamiliar with astrophotography and electronics, so please be gentle.
I have a new ZWO ASI 120 MC-S and I'm running ASIStudio from my MacBook Pro with Catalina 10.15.7.
I'm an astronomy outreach professional and NOT interested in astrophotography per se, but rather want to use the ASI camera to capture live sky views that I will project onto a cinema screen for an audience who will be listening to me talk about the targets as I remotely move my scope across the sky.
My main problem is understanding the basics of how to simply get an image to appear in the software! I don't even know if I should use Planetary Imaging, Deep Sky Imaging, Live Stacking or Deep Sky Stacking?

What settings should I enter and in what order?
Can someone please point me to an appropriate tutorial?
Thank you

Hi

I don't use asi studio for anything but viewing my astrophotography fits files to check them. So I dont know a lot about it. But I came across this video on YouTube if it helps at all.

Another option could be sharpcap software maybe. I'm sure others who have used software for outreach purposes will be along shortly. 

Cheers 

Lee 

• Like 1

31 minutes ago, Scubayorp said:

Tnx Lazy Astronomer, I'll do that but can I ask why I would want to stack anything if I'm just panning across the sky in order to settle on a target for discussion?

You would be stacking to get a more detailed picture of what you looking at.

However you mention a remote controlled scope, do you have further detail on that, it will help a lot to kno2 more about your equipment 

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Scubayorp said:

Tnx Lazy Astronomer, I'll do that but can I ask why I would want to stack anything if I'm just panning across the sky in order to settle on a target for discussion?