Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Ritchey-Chrétien Questions

I have a RASA 8 on a EQ8-R which is great for F2 widefield paired with a ZWO 2600MC Pro.

It has its downsides with changing filters due to back focus and have been contemplating swapping it for a RASA 11. This is £4600 or more upgrade (yes will get some back on sale of the RASA8)

On top of that I would really need to upgrade to a full frame camera from the APC 2600 to get the full benefit from the 11, another 4k or more !!!!

What would I get from it all, the same really with the ability to change filters easier, but the same as the 8 nearly.

Well I don't have a long focal scope and so galaxy season is really out of the question for the Rasa

This has got me thinking, how about one of these below from FLO, keep the Rasa8 and have this as well for a fraction of the upgrade costs ???

I have never used one of these scopes before, I understand some of the principle, but have some questions to those in the know if you would be so kind.

• What are they like to collimate ?
  • Do they produce flat fields, or is a corrector needed ?
  • What drawbacks do they have ?

Edited by Catanonia

50 minutes ago, Catanonia said:

What are they like to collimate ?

Some people have very tough time collimating those. I managed to collimate mine without much issues (have 8" one).

51 minutes ago, Catanonia said:

Do they produce flat fields, or is a corrector needed ?

They produce flat field up to a point - after that you need some sort of corrector. On 8" version I use 4/3 sensor without issues. For APS-C sized - field flattener should probably be used (although it says corrected field up to 28mm).

52 minutes ago, Catanonia said:

What drawbacks do they have ?

They are back heavy - plan for counter balance on the tube itself (I use 1kg Baader that attaches to the vixen rail).