Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How to Acheive Focus with ASI533MCPRO

Hi,

As a newbie I'm trying to achieve focus and thought perhaps best to do this during the day against some rooftops.
With or without filters it's completely white image. 
Focal Length 420 on 72ed.
Gain M = 100

setup includes ASI AIR running live video, focus or exposures.

Skywatcher 72ED
Reducer for 72ED
MFW
ZWO533MCPRO

sitting on star adventurer2

Also a Guide Scope 50ED
Reducer for 50ED
ZWO 120 MM Mini

I understand I need to first achieve back focus which is either 55mm or 56mm. I've tried a number of adapters but the image is not focused and becoming very time consuming any help is much appreciated.

IMG_4212.jpg

Edited by themcfallguy

So, for the back focus (going on your photo) you have 6.5mm from the front of the sensor to front face on the camera, the EFW is 20mm and you've added the 16.5mm spacer = 43mm back spacing. If you add the 11mm spacer in front of the EFW and use the thin round spacers to get your extra 1mm then you'll be on the required 55mm.

With the EFW, if you're using 1.25" filters then this does need to be as close to the sensor as possible, otherwise you start getting vignetting.

For daytime exposures, reduce the gain down, as you only want to get a rough focus then use gain zero, and reduce the exposure times down to the 1 or 2 seconds, maybe even shorter.

When you start imaging at night, you'll need to check the focus again because it can change with the ambient temperature. So, if you're focusing manually, I would recommend a Bahtinov Focus Mask to make life much easier. ;)

• Like 1

1 minute ago, PeterCPC said:

10s exposure is way too much for daylight conditions. Try 1/2s or probably less.