Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

RisingCam in EKOS

wsteel33

Can anyone help.
I am using the RisingCam IMX571 camera and it uses the Touptek drivers in EKOS. It defaults to 8 bits per pixel in the settings but I am sure this is a 16 bit chip and I can see no way of changing this in the settings.
I am new to OSC dedicated cameras (using a Canon DSLR up until now). Am I misunderstanding something here?
Any advice gratefully received.

Cheers
Wayne

May have solved this myself.

The image setting was RGB.. when I changed this to RAW the bit depth changed to 16 bit 👍.

Hope this helps anyone else having similar issues if this is indeed the solution.

Cheers

Wayne

Edited by wsteel33
typo
  • Like 2

51 minutes ago, david_taurus83 said:

Sounds like it was set to output jpeg 8 bit. Let us know how you get on with this camera as they are a hell of a lot cheaper than the rest!

It was outputting .fit files and the data was looking good even at 8 bit.

The early signs are good, I will be giving a full run down of my experience in my earlier post below when I have some processed images.

9 minutes ago, wsteel33 said:

It was outputting .fit files and the data was looking good even at 8 bit.

The early signs are good, I will be giving a full run down of my experience in my earlier post below when I have some processed images.

Looking forward to your review. The mono version of the RisingCam IMX571 is almost £1k cheaper than equivalent offerings from ZWO and QHY. That's a massive saving. Even compared the Altair 26M which is basically the same unit, it is still a lot cheaper.

• Like 1

On 21/07/2021 at 19:34, wsteel33 said:

May have solved this myself.

The image setting was RGB.. when I changed this to RAW the bit depth changed to 16 bit 👍.

Hope this helps anyone else having similar issues if this is indeed the solution.

Cheers

Wayne

So does that mean you're capturing in Raw rather than fits files?