Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M13 - DSS vs APP

vineyard

Hello,

Have been trying out APP on a trial licence.  Here's 30 mins of lights from M13 last night (Evo50 w flattener, ASI294MCPro, uhc filter, -10C, gain 125, offset 16).

Same lights, same flats, same darks, same dark-flats.

Both put through ABE & HT in PI to save as jpg for file size. So the only difference is APP (first image) vs DSS (second image). No other tinkering done.

(Well, technically DSS is best 90% vs APP all 100% of the lights).

I think the APP is better?

I'm still learning APP so it did come up w a message during the processing saying that the master [dark] flats could not be applied for some reason, so perhaps APP could be even better.

Cheers.

M13_EvoFlat_uhc_30_lights_APP_ABE.jpg

M13_EvoFlat_uhc_27_lights_DSS_ABE.jpg

1 hour ago, scotty38 said:

What about using WBPP to give a third option, how does that compare?

I've tried it before & ooph it eats up my laptop.  (Images were better than DSS but not as clean as APP - although those were different sets of lights so it's a little apples & oranges).  So far, cautiously optimistic about APP.  Want to try it w some data I'm gathering on Crescent nebula this week (hopefully!).

• Like 1

6 hours ago, johneta said:

Another free option is Siril. I moved to it from DSS some time ago

Yes I initially started w SiriL when I began AP, and now I can't remember why I switched to DSS - there was a reason but for the life of me, those grey cells have gone!😂

I moved from DSS to APP as I found it better. Also, the gradient removal on APP is very good as is the star colour calibration. The only negatives with APP that I have found is that there is not a proper user manual and it is quite slow compared with other stacking packages. I suppose the cost is the other negative with APP, but given the £££'s spent on the kit a few pounds for software is not a biggy.

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, Clarkey said: