Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Leo Triplet

Adreneline

This is 40 x 120s using my ASI294MC and StellaLyra 6" RC unguided on my iOptron CEM25-EC. For whatever reason I struggled to get balance in DEC last night but that said the tracking still held up even though I am pushing this mount toward its weight limit.

Leo_Triplet_294_RC-PI.thumb.jpg.85f8b28376ca6b25010df9b7d985a055.jpg

Totally processed in PI from start to finish.

I'm still learning how to process OSC - it's a tricky business.

As always C&C welcome.

Thanks for looking.

Adrian

• Like 19

3 minutes ago, AbsolutelyN said:

Cracking image Adrian. I can't believe you're doing these unguided and getting such great results, I don't think I'd even dare attempt without. 

Thank you Tristan.

I'm sure the accurate PA with the Polemaster helps and being really careful with the balance, although I just could not get it to balance perfectly in DEC last night. When I get it right the mount is absolutely silent in operation, unlike when I try to guide when it is clicking away like mad all the time - sounds like it's fighting with itself.

The dark skies here help a lot.

Adrian

45 minutes ago, Adreneline said:

This is 40 x 120s using my ASI294MC and StellaLyra 6" RC unguided on my iOptron CEM25-EC.

Fantastic Adrian.  Just 80 minutes too, wow.  Is that at native FL or did you have a reducer on?  Great colour and details too.

• Thanks 1

5 minutes ago, geeklee said:

Fantastic Adrian.  Just 80 minutes too, wow.  Is that at native FL or did you have a reducer on?  Great colour and details too.

Thank you Lee.

I had the reducer on so the effective fl was 1070mm according to the ASIair. I usually use Affinity to draw out colours but this time I decided to stick with PI - still struggle to get the blues though. I focussed with the BM last night but then refined the focus with the vanes on the scope which helped with the detail.