Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Absolute Beginner

Hi everyone. Bought a second hand telescope yesterday. It's a Sky Watcher refractor 70mm, focal length 900mm. It only came with a 25mm eyepiece and red dot finder, that only works intermittently so today's job is trying to fix that. I believe it has an EQ1 mount according to the seller.

I tried to align the mount and we setup last night. Got some amazing views of the moon, but the mount needed adjustment on both axis to keep the view centred so will check the alignment again today.

I have ordered a 10mm eyepiece, is there anything else I need to add? Viewing will be from my garden, in the south east of the UK. it doesn't suffer too much light pollution, which is good.

I've been reading through a lot of the guides on here, very helpful and encouraging, I must say.

• Like 1

I am also a beginner but I got mine just before xmas so I've had the chance to get a few bits. I'd definitely recommend both a barlow lens and a moon filter. The barlow lense doubles the power of eyepieces so its good for viewing planets and the moon filter can make the moon so much easier to observe without it hurting your eyes. Both items are relatively inexpensive.

I would start by downloading some planetarium software. On a phone or tablet I suggest Sky Safari (I believe the most basic version is now free) and on a computer you should download Stellarium. These should help you to start learning where things are in the sky. As you need to locate things manually, you should spend a good 10 minutes at the start and end of each session just trying to spot and learn the constellations without using your telescope. Orion is a constellation most people can spot so start with that and then from there you can look for Taurus etc. The book "Turn Left at Orion" will also be useful for finding targets to look at with your telescope.