Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astronomy jobs?

BS269

I was wondering what kind of jobs there were in the astronomy world, that didn’t require a PhD..

I’m a newly graduated student in physics with space science, who got their first telescope a few months back and since started to actively involve myself in the stargazing hobby and community, and I’ve loved every minute of it! However I’m now at the daunting position of being thrown out into the world of work, and I’m hoping I can find something that involves this amazing subject.

My problem is most jobs that utilise my degree require a higher level of qualification; masters, PhD etc.. something that I am not yet prepared to do. So I’m turning to you good people who have been in this community far longer than I, for any possible ideas. 

The one that springs to my mind first is a telescope store, though I fear I don’t have enough knowledge or experience of telescope equipment to be a sales advisor in such a shop (though I am a fast learner!). The second idea, which I’d love to do, would be astronomy journalism, but again I imagine a journalism qualification is required. 

Are there any other astronomy related jobs out there that people can think of, that might be possible for me to apply for? 

Many thanks! 
Ben

Hello Ben.

I hate to sound negative, but having been in the astronomical business I have become aware that it's almost impossible to jump into any astronomy related jobs, they all seem to require either very high academic qualifications or significant experience or even both.  Those with good PhD's find it hard enough to break into the subject professionally and those that are fortunate enough to do so will tell you that it's not all swanning about in famous observatories using exotic equipment.  More often, still stuck in the UK "number crunching" on fairly narrow subject data.