Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tips for wide field astrophotography with a dslr?

Olli

Hi there

i have recently acquired a dslr and looking to take some widefield shots of the night sky however at the moment I do not have a tracking mount. I was wonder if you guys have any tips for me ( such as what iso shutter speed ect to use ) as I’m pretty new to this stuff and not really sure what the limitations are without tracking. I only have a 18-55mm kit lens hoping to add more in the future.

Any help would be greatly appreciated 

The “rule of 400” is a great starting point. Keep your exposure to no longer than 400 divided by the focal length you’re using to avoid star trails. You could even push it to 500 for higher declination targets.

And worth getting to the darkest site you can.

Enjoy!!

• Thanks 1

18 minutes ago, FenlandPaul said:

The “rule of 400” is a great starting point. Keep your exposure to no longer than 400 divided by the focal length you’re using to avoid star trails. You could even push it to 500 for higher declination targets.

And worth getting to the darkest site you can.

Enjoy!!

Thank you for the advice, is there anything I have to do for focusing? Is there a certain point I should focus ? Where I live I have pretty dark skies but there’s a big field behind me which I’ll go to which seems darker!

20 minutes ago, Olli said:

Thank you for the advice, is there anything I have to do for focusing? Is there a certain point I should focus ? Where I live I have pretty dark skies but there’s a big field behind me which I’ll go to which seems darker!

For focusing,  set your camera to Manual Focus, then set the focus ring to the infinity symbol. 

Next, mount your camera on a tripod, or equivalent, set the 'short' shutter setting (it doesn't need to be 10 seconds) and set the iso to a really high setting and take a 5 second exposure of the sky including some bright stars.