SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Upgrading a SkyWatcher StarQuest 130p

Hi! I'm very new to astronomy and have ordered a SkyWatcher StarQuest 130p as my first telescope, which arrives soon. As I understand it the tripod is the biggest weak link in the setup. Is it possible for me to buy a replacement, better tripod to improve my viewing experience overall?

Apart from the tripod what would you recommend upgrading?

Thanks!

Edited by Crignog

Hello and a warm welcome to the SGL. Try your new set up first before thinking about upgrades. The tripod may well be perfectly adequate. Learn how to use the scope to find objects in the night sky. This can be difficult at first but with a bit of practice you will soon learn. Above all enjoy yourself as you set out in your new hobby.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Crignog said:

Hi! I'm very new to astronomy and have ordered a SkyWatcher StarQuest 130p as my first telescope, which arrives soon. As I understand it the tripod is the biggest weak link in the setup. Is it possible for me to buy a replacement, better tripod to improve my viewing experience overall?

Apart from the tripod what would you recommend upgrading?

Thanks!

Hi welcome to SGL. 

I put together a video review of the exact telescope I while back. It might be helpful as it covers one or two things that you can do to improve the scope. You've made a good choice though from all the budget scopes I've tested :) I've coincidentally just ordered the StarQuest 102R plus the optional motor drive for myself as I think it's one of the best budget setups out there capable of tracking the stars. 

• Like 1

49 minutes ago, laudropb said: