Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Connect GPS to SynScan V3

JTB

Hello,

I am very new to Astronomy and with the current 'crisis' I have had a bit of time to look at my setup and decided that adding a GPS to the SynScan controller would be 'simple' and a nice option to have when moving sites.

As best as I can make out you need to connect the serial NMEA output of a GPS receiver at 4800 Baud to the input of the controller via the RJ11 connector and configure the handset to accept GPS data. My SynScan AZ V3 handset is hardware version 3.06 and the firmware is 3.39 which I believe should support the GPS option?

So before getting the cables made up I plugged the handset into a power source, WITHOUT any other connections, then looked for the GPS options in the menu but I could not find them. Is this because it could not detect any GPS input or is there something about the handset version that doesn't support this option?

Is it also possible, using a different interface, to link the GPS to Stellarium running on a laptop?

I have looked on the internet and several sites and YouTube videos to find out the above but when I look for the options in Stellarium I was unable to find any.

Your assistance would be appreciated!

I have the Orion v3 hand controller which is the same as the Synscan version.  The GPS has a cable with an adapter that ends in a RJ-12/11 connection to plug into the HC.  You need to be sure this is plugged in when you power the HC on.  There are no menus to setup, detection is automatic.  The HC will see the GPS device and immediately try to locate itself and find the date/time.  You will have an abbreviated setup process as a result as the location and time/date are done for you.  However keep the GPS antenna away from all metal as it will interfere with the GPS signal.  The HC may take a minute or two to find and setup the GPS info so be patient.

Thanks for the infomation. I tried it again but still no luck -  this time.