Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

ISS and strange 'lights'

Skywatcher130

Last night didn't go quite as planned as I forgot to charge power pack (assumed it would be OK,  will not make that mistake again ?).

Anyways,  I knew that the ISS was due for a flyover at 7.57 so I sat outside with a cup of hot tea and watched as it went by (5 minutes @ 72 degrees max so pretty good show). Was the brightest I had seen it yet,  just wish I could photograph it. 

I decided to do a bit of star gazing with the naked eye.  I'm still learning my way around the sky so time well spent.  Orion is getting harder to spot from my garden and I saw the now tiny Mars underneath the Pleiades cluster.  Cassiopeia looked great and I kicked myself for not having the scope in use as I was going to look at Andromeda with my new eyepiece. 

Then over to the west I could see what looked like hazy beam like shapes. Clouds maybe or a distant laser show?  I was reading my Sky at Night magazine this morning when I noticed on page 47 (March edition)  an article about the zodiacal lights.  Well it was in the right place at the right time as described - 90 minutes after sunset. I'm wondering now if I really did see it.  It looks to be clear again tonight so I will have a look and hopefully take a picture. Did anyone else spot this? 

Deb 

On 29/03/2019 at 10:23, Skywatcher130 said:

I decided to do a bit of star gazing with the naked eye.  I'm still learning my way around the sky so time well spent. 

Getting out there and just having a look up with no scope or binoculars is a really good way of learning your way around, I still spend some time doing this most times I go out.