Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Orion's nebula

Space Oddities

Finally, clear skies! Since November, I swear, there must have been 3 nights without any cloud... :( 

So despite the cold, yesterday, I went to the city park to photograph Orion. My last attempt was more than a year ago, with just a tripod, so I was eager to photograph it with an EQ mount and a longer focal length.

Here is a first version!

Final_v01.thumb.jpg.5fd4bba38f519fc0fe152c6482be101a.jpg

Acquisition details:

• Fujifilm X-T1 (unmodded)
  • Canon 300mm f/4L + 1.4x teleconverter at about f/7
  • IDAS LPS D1 (Bortle 7/8)
  • iOptron Skyguider Pro
  • About 20 minutes of data (39x30 seconds)
  • 42 darks, 37 bias, no flat (yet)
  • ISO 800
  • Post-processing in Photoshop and DeepSkyStacker

I used the LPS filter for the first time, so colors might be a bit off... I'm still not an expert in RGB alignment!

Also, I left my remote control at home, so all I could use was the in-camera intervalometer, which is limited to 30 seconds exposures. Damn, I knew I left something... I should make a checklist!

I also had troubles with my Skyguider mount... again. It's back from repair, because it was wiggly, and it seemed fine until last night. But it seems to be wiggly again, and about 50% of my subs showed trailing and had to be thrown away... I think it's because of the vibrations of the ground. At 8pm, despite the cold, there was lots of dogs running and playing around my tripod... At least they didn't bite the tripod's legs... But I'm still concerned about that wiggly mount. Perhaps I should ask for a replacement... :( 

Anyway, despite these issues, I find the result nice! And definitely better than my last attempt, so it looks like I'm learning a thing or two! :) 

Feedback appreciated! :)