Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A Minimalist Setup

Thalestris24

Although it wasn't actually clear after midnight last night I could just about see one or two stars... So I set up my Super Multicoated Takumar F4 plus a qhy5l-ii mono on my eq3 pro. This gives quite a decent fov and, though lacking in aperture, it should be quite fast. I did a drift align with PHD2 but will run unguided:

Tak1.jpg.c568ada1205e85cd3e6579af7cd972db.jpg

Tak2.jpg.99160269ed114ffcf8a9120ad8fee736.jpg

The blue rectangle is a cheap Li battery that I'm using to power the eq3 pro :)

I managed a few test shots. There were no dso targets around but here are some stars centred on HIP79885 (24 x 15s):

HIP79985_24x15s-2.thumb.jpg.166aefadc27a94c91023d688020d2c23.jpg

It really was murky! Oh, I don't understand why, but the qhy5l-ii is more sensitive than the cooled Minicam5s which is the same sensor. Maybe it's something in qhy's firmware.

Louise

ps Live Stacked in SharpCap Pro with master darks and flat :)

You do marvelously from your flat Louise, but just wondering how you manage to drift align from indoors, I thought you have to be able to see two horizons either side of the Meridian.  Or do you have windows both sides?

Carole 

1 minute ago, carastro said:

You do marvelously from your flat Louise, but just wondering how you manage to drift align from indoors, I thought you have to be able to see two horizons either side of the Meridian.  Or do you have windows both sides?

Carole 

Hi Carole