Star Adventurer Equipment Question

Hi all

Long time reader, first time poster here. I've had a Star Adventurer since June and have been enjoying getting to grips with it. I've taken some successful 30 exposures of the Pinwheel Galaxy with tracking on (not the best due to exposure time but good to know I did everything right). So I feel like I'm ready to brace the cold nights and start photographing more. 

My question is, with Christmas coming up, I am wanting to expand my armoury a bit. What equipment would you buy next if you were in my position? I have an unmodded DSLR with a couple of lenses up to 300mm. Would a small refractor be the next best step? Budget is around £250. I should add that while I'm totally new to AP, I have had a telescope for a couple of years so I'm not completely new to the hobby. 

Interested to know your thoughts.

Thanks

Nick

Interesting question with many possible answers, you could look at a budget guiding option to allow longer exposure or maybe a modded DSLR to capture Ha faster (red stuff)

Can you go longer than 30 seconds ? Are you using a programmable shutter release ?

I've got SA and had been thinking about adding a small refractor to the kit, but the consensus (from posts on these forum's) are that the equipment I've got is good enough for SA and the next jump is a big one, a Refractor (or other scope) on a HEQ5/6. 

So I'll second the guiding for longer exposure times - that's the route I went - still getting to grips with it.........

Out of interest what F ratio are your lenses? I've a 150-500mm with a F/5.6-6.3 so just as good small refractor for F ratio and Focal length.

I don't have a remote shutter release at the moment, that's already on the list ? I would like to do longer exposures and these seem relatively cheap to pick up online. 

My lenses are F4-5.6. I think at 300mm that will be good enough to get me going along with longer exposure times.