SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

North American Nebula in SHO - first attempt

widotje

Hi folks,

Managed to get 8 hours of data on the cygnus wall in the north american nebula (NGC7000).

I'm happy to receive your feeback as I'm still new to combining narrowband stacks into SHO (or other combi's)!

My data:

35x5 min Ha

30x5 min Oiii

30x5 min Sii

See below the Ha separate and then two attempts to combine all stacks into SHO. I've used photoshop (layers, levels, curves....).

https://astrob.in/368065/C/

NA_nebula (1 van 1).jpg

NA_nebula_SHO4 (1 van 1).jpg

NA_nebula_SHO5 (1 van 1).jpg

• 2 weeks later...

Excellent work! I'm in the process of .....processing the data I captured on this object recently so your examples are useful ?

Really enjoyed the video as well, great production work there and interesting to see you using NexRemote to align the AVX, I haven't tried that yet but intend to try at the end of the week.

Thanks for taking the time to post all of this - really useful.

David

I just noticed that you're using a nose piece adapter to connect your ASI1600 to the filter wheel.

I had mine configured like that and I was getting reflections off the filters - at least I think that was what was happening.

When I attached the camera directly to the filter wheel and used adapters for on the other side to get enough back focus - the defects went away.

Hope that helps - you may not have experienced this issue but if you have - it might be the solution ?

David

On 23/09/2018 at 16:51, peter shah said:

great set of images....you last two are  my favorites 

Thanks! I've used a deepskycolors script in Photoshop, that really helped to bring out the blue/gold colours.

On 13/10/2018 at 21:19, David_L said:

I just noticed that you're using a nose piece adapter to connect your ASI1600 to the filter wheel.

I had mine configured like that and I was getting reflections off the filters - at least I think that was what was happening.