Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Practical electronics textbook recommendations?

choochoo_baloo

Hoping for recommendations of a practical electronic book.

I have a physics degree, but in wanting to design my own circuits for astronomy projects I'm quickly discovering that the very limited electronics I covered (applying differential calculus to LCR circuits) was very much on the theoretical end. My favourite textbooks have always come from a personal recommendation.

Therefore I'm after a book that doesn't waste much (if any) time on the basics; charge/voltage/electromagnetism/semiconductors and advanced mathematics, but is more of a circuit recipe book for those with a scientific background, just not in electrical engineering.

Current 'to research' topics to indicate the sort of detail I'm after:

• selecting a linear voltage regulator
  • uses of the 555 timer IC

Thanks in advance.

Hi Mathew.

As a retired engineer, having spent 40+ yrs in electronics system engineering (started when thermionic valves, Thyratrons, were still being used for AC power control) I can tell you that books become outdated very quickly!  Once I retired most of my electronics books, some dating back to the fifties, were sent for recycling.

last year I began a few projects and needed a refresher and came across this book:

Practical Electronics For Inventors by Paul Scherz and Simon Monk.

ISBN-10: 1259587541

ISBN-13: 978-1259587542

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Practical-Electronics-Inventors-Fourth-Scherz/dp/1259587541/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1534373301&sr=8-1&keywords=practical+electronics+for+inventors

My copy, is the third edition, the Amazon link I provided is for the fourth edition which came out earlier this year.

The book does contain all the information you require to design and build your own circuits, formulae, example circuits, references to standard devices, such as the 555 timer you mentioned, power supply design etc.