Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Weird PHD graph and ruined pictures.

Tonight I had a bit of frustration happen with a weird symptom I have never seen before. I polar aligned my mount, did a new pointing model with Celestron PWI and everything seemed normal. Then I started shooting.

first this happened:

wat_error_PHD.thumb.png.0936bf872659d49b214efe0aa34e4ff8.png

Then I did a new pointing model and started over:

wat_error_PHD_2.thumb.png.2e7a9e005820bf89e1334ed1b46c69f5.png

Same odd spike. I've watched and it doesn't come at fixed interval, so it is seemingly random, happening from anywhere between 20s to 2 minutes apart.

The shape looks so alike in all these pictures I can't help feel that this is some known issue, maybe a feedback loop gone haywire?

Drag sounds odd. As you see from ra, the lines drastically jumps from middle, to one side humours all the way to the other and then slowly settles. With drag it would just be a constant, no? 

Morning!

I had exactly the same type of graph a couple of weeks back following a rebuild/belt-mod of my NEQ6 mount.

One of two things fixed it - it was either me adjusting the backlash on the DEC drive or it was tightening the DEC drive shaft, where in an attempt to not overtighten the bearing I had not tightened it enough and it developed axial play. Either way it was a mechanical problem which gave rise to a plot exactly like yours.

HTH and good luck trying to sort it out.

Adrian

16 minutes ago, Adreneline said:

Morning!

I had exactly the same type of graph a couple of weeks back following a rebuild/belt-mod of my NEQ6 mount.

One of two things fixed it - it was either me adjusting the backlash on the DEC drive or it was tightening the DEC drive shaft, where in an attempt to not overtighten the bearing I had not tightened it enough and it developed axial play. Either way it was a mechanical problem which gave rise to a plot exactly like yours.

HTH and good luck trying to sort it out.

Adrian