Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Star Stretching to avoid bloated stars

I've been using pixinsight for a few years as my image processing software and I have always struggled with keeping star sizes small. I've tried numerous star reduction methods but I've never been happy with the dimmed fuzzy stars they give me. Some methods I can think of:

Stretching
MaskedStretch - Copying stars into HistogramTransformation strecthed image (Following Harry's tutorial)
HistogramTransformation - Using Lightness Mask

Post-Sretch Reduction
MorphologicalTransformation - Morphological Selection using starmask
MorphologicalTransformation - Erosion using starmask

Typically I have found that blending the MaskStretch stars in 50-50 with the HistTrans image gives me the best results, but I'm still not happy with the attached.

I have wondered if my equipment is the source of my problems, I have a 200mm f/4 Newtonian & an Atik 428 Mono CCD. This gives me a fast scope with a small field of view, pixel scale is 1.17 arcsecs. I have attached two images; one is of my auto-STF of my Lum stack, the other is the blended stretch I mentioned earlier.

My question would be, can anyone suggest other methods to try to allow me to produce nice tight stars without fuzzy halos?

Thanks in advance,
Pete

auto-stretch.png

blended stretch.png

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Pete.

It would be interesting to see a few uncalibrated and uncompressed lights in raw fits format from the same series to compare.

Although one would expect some loss of clarity in the image crops you have posted, overall the images seem very ‘soft’ to me. With your pixel scale I would have expected the diffraction spikes on that bright star in the lower left to be much crisper, especially from the Quatro with that very thin steel spider they use. The galaxy spiral arms also don’t seem that punchy.