Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Sol 22/10/17

niallk

Hi,

Chanced a fleeting gap in the clouds, and as I'm finding with Ha, one often gets rewarded for making the effort!

There's a very interesting prominence visible on the disc of the sun now: visible here at 10 o'clock on this pic courtesy of GONG.  I've not seen anything like this before in my brief experience to-date.

It looks more impressive at the EP, and is more fully on the face of the disc.

I didn't even notice it SS, but as I tuned in DS - whoaaa! There's also a prom on the limb just near it (as shown below).

This 'fuzzy prom' on the disc (apologies - I'm a complete newbie, and don't know the right terminology) seems to be highly sensitive to tuning: suddenly darkening as I tune and/or pan slightly through the sweetest spot on my scope.  Taking off the DS filter, I can see it SS - now I know what I'm looking for  However it is not so imposing/impressive.  DS 'ing is really bringing out beautiful detail.

sol.PNG.39ceea15ec32b808f052b1c3ec34915b.PNG

-Niall

Nice report Nial :icon_biggrin:

I've just had a very brief 1st light of my LS50 (SS) and I saw that strange fuzzy / smeared dark area on the edge of the disk as well. I put it down as a sort of spreadout filament but I'm so new to this that's bound to be wrong !

I'm pleased have had my 1st look through the scope and even more pleased that it works !

2 minutes ago, John said:

Nice report Nial :icon_biggrin:

I've just had a very brief 1st light of my LS50 (SS) and I saw that strange fuzzy / smeared dark area on the edge of the disk as well. I put it down as a sort of spreadout filament but I'm so new to this that's bound to be wrong !

I'm pleased have had my 1st look through the scope and even more pleased that it works !

Delighted to hear that your new scope is delivering nice views John!

I read every thread I could find on the LS50, and was quite nervous prior to 1st light - and hugely relieved when I saw detail :)