NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Processing v Post Processing Issues?

I've been using DSS and Photoshop for a few years now and I'd like to think, have a reasonable understanding of the processes etc. but have always been bugged by the outcome when moving the image from the stacked DSS image to PS for post processing, which often does not seem to produce a better image despite my best efforts.  Since transitioning to the mono ZWO1600MM-Cool camera and especially narrowband the disparity seems even more clear.

A recent stacked Ha-image looked very promising in DSS after stacking - first image below.  But on moving the same stacked image to PS and carefully applying Levels and Curves the result - second image below - to my eye does not seem to be as good as that originally viewed in DSS.  

I'm wondering if I'm missing something here in the PS processing? Any advice on how to improve matters would be appreciated.

Thanks, Graham

5999afe6032bb_DSSStackedPelicanCrop.png.f876efb1b70c616dfc17aa0003fee518.png

5999afec8b841_IC5070HaL2C6(Medium).thumb.png.7af630faec579a76b3e3e38f7046b693.png        

The first thing I have noticed is that your background sky level is very low - I'm reading levels around 8 whereas a more realistic level is roughly between 22 and 25.

Not everyone agrees with me on this next point but do you adjust the levels in one swoop or in lots of small iterations? I find that lots of iterations with smaller adjustments at each stage gives better results.

Alan - the DSS version (which is a screen capture after stacking) is without any adjustments and, as I said, to me looks quite good as a starting point for post processing.  But when moved into PS goes dark and needs to be stretched - it has always been my understanding this is inevitable?