Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help identify night sky light?

niceblokejohn

Hi everyone :) I saw something odd in the night sky last night (seemed to be flashing red every now and again), so grabbed my spotting scope and camcorder and zoomed in. I'm a complete beginner to astronomy, but was hoping experts on here could please help me identify what I saw?

It was brighter than most stars in the sky, on a clear night in Wiltshire. I got just over 20 minutes of footage of it. It seems circular in shape, with additional circles within it (like a large light circle, then a darker circle, then a small light circle). Excuse the quality of the pictures, and the Death Star in the screen grabs, which was one suggestion on a non-astronomy forum so I added it for fun... !

Anyway, here are the screengrabs and vids, first two were using the "slow shutter" video mode, so more light but 1-2 fps:

lightsbv6.th.jpg

http://www.maddogs.co.uk/forum/dvdf_lights.avi

Anyone got any ideas?

Hello.

I think it probably IS a Death Star, it's been a while since we blew the last one up.

http://www.tv.com/uservideos/?action=video_player&id=IHQwwWPw5b4Ivjbb&om_act=convert&om_clk=viduservids

Luckily, one of the guys on here got a piccy of it blowing up;

http://stargazerslounge.com/index.php/topic,30280.0.html

If perchance it turns out NOT to be a death star, then perhaps you could tell us WHERE in the sky it was (compass directions are good, or where was it compared to the moon), at what TIME, what SIZE it was (compared say, to the moon), how long it was there, whether it moved etc etc. Details details details.

But have no fear, the only unusual thing we ever see at night is a clear sky :)

TJ

Thanks for the replies everyone. It was (if my cheap compass is working...) to the NE, it was the same size as a star to the naked eye, quite low on the horizon (above rooftops, but planes were moving around much higher), at about 10pm last night.