NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

August 24th - H Alpha

paulastro

Had a session from before 7.00am, but seeing was very poor, it hadn't improved even by 11.00 am.  Thin cloud and haze didn't help either.  Still, good enough to show the main features.  There were at least five prominences or groups of prominences, most of them in the W.  They all seemed rather faint, and it took an exposure of 1/2 sec to show them at all well - though the conditions may have contributed to their apparent dimness.      Single frame taken with Lunt 60 DS, Olympus E - M10, taken at 7.56 am, 1/80 on 500 asa.

As an afterthought I've added the frame with the prominences, a small version just to show where they are - and to avoid dazzling you too much!!

P8240548b.jpgP8240539a.jpg

3 hours ago, The Head Gardener said:

Paul, I notice you often mention your sessions are early in the day. 

I'm a complete solar novice (only took delivery of scope this morning!), is it generally fair to say that in this part of the country seeing is generally better earlier than later?

Thanks, Jayne

Many thanks Jayne.  I think early mornings can be productive anywhere - not particularly in any location (in sense of being in the N, S, E or W).   If mornings are better in some locations than others then I'm not aware of it.  I have observed in many locations over the years, and they do seem to have some advantages wherever I've been. 

Whatever your weather forecast, the times around dawn can sometimes present unexpected clear periods.  The weather during the night is often different to that of the following day - which is what the weather forecasts tell you about.  I've often had an unexpected clear period early on, when the rest of the day is heavy rain.  Most weather forecasts don't seem to assume that people might get up very early!