Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Small widefield Rig. TS60/ASI1600M

MattJenko

This is my first attempt at a serious review of a small widefield imaging rig I have set up over the last few months. The brief I gave myself was quite simple, but hard. I wanted a small, fast, well corrected refractor with a large, cooled, mono sensor camera with decent resolution for both LRGB and narrowband imaging of large DSOs with a minimum need for mosaics. It was to be portable and have the ability to be mounted on a StarAdventurer, although the last requirement was a bonus, not an essential. It all had to be "affordable", so I budgeted for under £2000. I already had a filterwheel and some 1.25” Baader filters to add to the setup if I could use them.

The refractor first.

I had a look at a LOT of small refractors. The market has a LOT of them. I have had 60mm scopes before, including an AA triplet, but they all disappointed, either mechanically or optically, but I found the specs of the TS Photoline series very appealing and after much agonizing, I purchased the TS60ED Photoline with a good deal more hope than expectation. What attracted me was the small size and weight, the quality reviews of the focuser and the ability to use the Photoline flattener/reducer to give this little scope some serious paper specs: FL 260mm, F-ratio, 4.3. If it works, who could argue with that.

For the camera, there were only 2 real options at my price point. A camera based on the Kodak 8300 chip and the new ASI1600M cmos from ZWO. I did consider some mono DSLRs, but they are expensive and seem more like a tool doing the wrong job than a dedicated astro camera. The reviews of the ASI600 and the specs seemed like it also would be too good to be true with the TS60:

Pixel Scale : 3.01”/pixel
FoV : 3.89 x 2.95 degrees

Massive field of view with almost as good a resolution than the Skywatcher ED80 and Atik 414ex I have had for over a year now...