Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

DSS Fail. Help please!

Iainp

Hi all. I'm just beginning to experiment with deep sky imaging, using Nikon D3100 (unmodded), on 25 year old 10" SCT. The drive is quite unreliable and unsteady and I seem to be limited to around 20-30 seconds exposures at the moment. I tried some 10 second trials last week, and was excited to get some 'decent' results (first 2 images below; Ring nebula and M15) so last night I started to take things a little more seriously by tethering the Nikon to a laptop, and using a focusing mask.  For the first time I also took bias frames and flats too. (I read somewhere here that darks with a DSLR often add noise, so can be left out, please correct me if that's wrong ;-) 

I too 20+ light frames of the dumbbell nebula, ISO 800, 20 seconds each. As you can see below, the individual frames are really dark, and stars are pretty much invisible. This is odd, it seems to me. Anyway, I put everything into DSS and it says "no stars visible". I understand the need to play around with % slider to pick out enough stars to stack images, but whatever I did, DSS couldn't see any stars. These are RAW (nef) files, so can be stretched in UFRaw to show lots of stars and detail in the nebula. (An "extreme" stretched and denoised one shown below the original, just to show what information is in there), so I used the "Exposure Compensation in EV" slider to reveal enough stars, then saved these as uncompressed Tiffs. (example below). Putting everything back into DSS produces the message that "The checked pictures are not compatibles (width,height, number of colors, number of channels").  The same thing happened when saving the stretched images as PPM files.  Next I tried converting the bias  and flat frames to tiffs too. This produces the message that there are no stars visible, even though there are clearly dozens of stars!