Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help needed DSLR settings for Milkyway

Hi All

Help needed please !! Newbie !!

Sorry if this sounds stupid.

After dusting off my Star Adventurer I attempted my first Milkyway shot from my back garden in Portsmouth which has quite bad light pollution, I am using a Canon 600D with a Sigma 50mm F1.4 lens, I set up the Star Adventurer with good polar alignment then I set the lens to its widest aperture and set the ISO to 800 set the exposure to 5 minutes all via BYEOS, after it took the first image it was completely washed out, what is the best thing to do lower the aperture or lower the ISO ?

Thanks for your help.

5 minutes in a light polluted area is far too much. start off small say around 10-15 seconds then go from there to 30 seconds. ISO is fine and your other settings sound good as well.

The only stupid questions are the ones that aren't asked :happy7:

I'm no expert and relatively new to imaging myself, but I would try using a light pollution filter and reducing exposure time.

There's no real advantage to reducing the aperture other than to increase depth of field, but that's not needed for astro imaging if you're correctly focused.  

John

As above, an ISO of 800 on modern Canon`s is close to unity gain so thats fine you could stop the lens down a little but as said reduce the exposure time.

BTW I have had data that is almost completely white and still managed to pull a good image out of it.

Alan

I used 15 seconds at iso 1600, Canon 6D, 24mm 1.4 fixed tripod.

The effects of light pollution can be reduced in processing and stacking multiple subs will remove most if not all of the noise.

Here's a recent test from my garden in Portsmouth. It can be done!

9 hours ago, Jonk said:

I used 15 seconds at iso 1600, Canon 6D, 24mm 1.4 fixed tripod.

The effects of light pollution can be reduced in processing and stacking multiple subs will remove most if not all of the noise.