NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Need help with telescope

Hi guys, 

Im new to the astronomy and currently have a Celestron130eq.  It is really good at looking at the moon but i want to go one step further and start observing other planets and try use the full power of the telescope.  Do you guys know of any lenses I could buy so i can see other planets such as jupiter or star clusters. 

Im willing to buy a new telescope aslong as it doesnt cost too much. 

Please give me some advice :) would really appreciate it 

Thanks 

Hello Kishan and welcome to SGL. In regards to eyepieces I am not sure of the exact specifics,focal lengh of your scope but I see it's 130 as aperture .

Therefore as in the uk we are limited to the magnification we can use , due to atmosphere conditions, but there is a guide of around 300x maximum magnification for good seeing conditions, I don't think or do I use this much magnification for much of my observing even for planets most of the time and sometimes considerably less.                            But to see planets in any detail you do need relatively high magnification ,so I would suggest something in the 5mm or 6mm range, as to make or type the vixen seem to have reasonable feed back and so do the BST starguider for there price . Obviously then you can go up in cost to the televue range which are very good but way more expensive. For Star clusters(depending on size of clusters) something around the  8mm to15mm eyepiece  would be handy to have especially if it has a reasonable fov .

If you do want to upgrade your scope to get better views than with your current scope , then you would have to push the aperture up more, so to get more light into the scope. A well respected scope is the skywatcher 200p to which can be picked up used for not to much cash and I think you would see a marked improvement over your current scope. 

I hope the above is helpful ☺