SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

ISS Spotter App

Hello all,

I'm brand new to astronomy, but I had a fun time Tuesday night and thought I'd share.  I downloaded a free app on my iPad called ISS Spotter. It has a forecast that tells when the International Space Station will be visible from your location. It said I'd be able to see it in 8 minutes, so I grabbed my 10x50 binoculars and headed outside. Exactly on cue, I was able to see a bright spot moving quite fast across the sky. I grabbed my binoculars, and while I couldn't make out any detail of the station I WAS able to see that the bright spot was indeed TWO bright spots. I ran inside and interrupted my wife's viewing of the latest Star Trek movie on tv. She came out and saw it too. She was incredulous that we were watching a no-kidding space station with people inside streaking by.

I'm sure this is probably boring for a lot of you. But hat a fun sighting!  We can't wait till our 90mm MAK arrives on Saturday.  Anyway, I thought I'd share the info about the app.  Get it!

Hi,

Glad you enjoyed watching the ISS as much as I (and many here) do. It is fascinating to watch and occasionally it is possible to see the supply ship trailing along with it before it docks or un-docks.

The real fun comes when you try to track it with a telescope! Very difficult but very possible and it is fabulous to see the shape of the structure screaming through your eyepiece :cool:

I hope you and your wife enjoy the new scope when it arrives.

Derek

it is a good time of year to see it, you seem to be able to see nearly every dusk till dawn pass :)

I tried tracking it in my scope the other night, but it was very hard, could just about make out a bit of structure.

nice spot

Me and the missus saw the ISS in our Pajama's last night!