Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

FITS and Colour Data

Hi there,

I'm a little confused, and hoping for some light to be shed on this matter. I'm very new to astro-photography, so I apologise for my ignorance, up-front.

I have an ASI178MC (one shot colour) camera.

If I use FITS (in FireCapture) as a capture file type, does that always contain the colour data? If so, at what point does the colour data enter the processing process? In other words...I have a bunch of FITS files and when I run them through DSS, the FITS viewer and output TIFF show B&W!

Kind regards

Chris

The colour should come out in processing. You can do a bit of this in DSS just to see how good your data is, but most people would recommend against using any changes in DSS when you export to your processing application. The quick fix DSS can be done as per this tutorial

https://markwalkerscreenwriting.wordpress.com/deep-sky-stacker-tutorial/

you probably still won't see a lot of colour until you fully process it, but it will give you an idea of the data you have captured. But it is not unusual for the standard output file from DSS to appear B&W.

Have a look on YouTube for processing tutorials for your processing software and that should help you tease the colour out!

17 hours ago, Marky1973 said:

The colour should come out in processing. You can do a bit of this in DSS just to see how good your data is, but most people would recommend against using any changes in DSS when you export to your processing application. The quick fix DSS can be done as per this tutorial

https://markwalkerscreenwriting.wordpress.com/deep-sky-stacker-tutorial/

you probably still won't see a lot of colour until you fully process it, but it will give you an idea of the data you have captured. But it is not unusual for the standard output file from DSS to appear B&W.

Have a look on YouTube for processing tutorials for your processing software and that should help you tease the colour out!