Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New to astronomy - Stellarium help

Hi everyone,

I have been using a pair of bins for about a year now and I am looking to buy my first telescope.

I have found Stellarium very useful to predict what will be available and when in the night sky.

I understand with Stellarium you can simulate what the intended target will look like through various astronomical telescopes and, as i am still undecided which telescope to buy, I would like to simulate a number of different ones as a guide before I buy. 

I am struggling to understand some of the info you have to put in to simulate the telescope you have.

Has anyone used it? If so how do I add for example a Skywatcher Explorer 150p, or the 130 or the 200p? And then how do I add the different eyepieces and lenses. I am confused by some of the technical info it asked for in Stellarium.

Is it useful? It seems it could be but, hey, I am new to this.

And also any other general advice on buying a first scope would be great.

Thanks

Martyn

Could you tell us the questions it is asking you that have you mystified? I can walk you through it easier this way - the old 'teach by example.'  imagine you are stuck on such info as focal-ration - the 'F/?. Often people are unsure what all these odd numbers and letters need to be explained - which is thankfully a process that is quite easy to learn.

Dave

Hello and welcome to the forum :icon_biggrin:

I would be very cautious about simulations of what can be seen through telescopes of various types and sizes. Many of the issues that affect what you can actually see though a scope and an eyepiece at any particular time are external to the scope, ie: viewing conditions, light pollution levels, observer experience etc so can't be simulated.