Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What makes a good image of a cluster?

Filroden

With the Moon almost full and not wanting to be up at 3am to catch the Milky Way, I've taken a look at some of the clusters that are visible at the moment. As a novice photographer, I sort of know what I'm aiming for with images of nebula and galaxies, but photos of clusters leave me cold. What do you think makes an interesting image of a cluster?

By way of example, here's a single 30 second exposure I captured a couple of nights ago which I processed to remove all background gradient and noise - so simple when you don't have to worry about feint detail in nebula or galaxies. I could just stretch the image, isolate the stars and then remove all background. But it leaves me with (in my opinion) a cold image. Is it just I need more exposures to go deeper into the star field, shorter exposures to get more colour in the stars or is it composition? Would welcome your thoughts (knowing it's quite subjective!).

large.57166673f3c13_PERSEUSDOUBLECLUSTER_LIGHT_30s_1600iso_30c_20160417-21h18m21s008ms.jpg

I'm sure they'll move it. It's a very worthwhile thread.

My answers as to what to go for in a cluster would be...

- Deep background, the opposite of your black clipping suggestion. It's often there:

https://ollypenrice.smugmug.com/Other/Best-of-Les-Granges/i-nmcNvss/A

Or highly unexpected backgrounds, a Fabian Neyer speciality: http://www.starpointing.com/ccd/ngc869_ngc884.html

- Good strong star colour. Try to get the colour right into the cores.

- Differential processing of star size and colour intensity in order to emphasize asterisms. Personally I declare this when I do it, as with Kemble's Cascade.

https://ollypenrice.smugmug.com/Other/Best-of-Les-Granges/i-SgKgDDN/A

Olly

2 hours ago, ollypenrice said:

I'm sure they'll move it. It's a very worthwhile thread.

My answers as to what to go for in a cluster would be...