Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best Imageing Refractor?

I am just starting out and looking for my first telescope that will allow me to do imageing of planets and deeper space objects such as galaxies. I have been advised that an 80mm apo refractor will do the job with the correct mount. I am thinking that a 100mm apo scope may be better to to see clearer images but has a f/7. The 80mm has a f/6. I realise the imaging time maybe longer for the 100mm but I am thinking the images will be clearer and worth the extra imageing time. Has anyone had experience of both size refractors to comment on their imageing experience and whether the 80mm or 100mm was better?

Imaging planets and deep sky objects are somewhat different disciplines.  Planets tend to be imaged using a long focal length scope and a video camera.  Deep sky objects are photographed with long exposure cameras.  Again what scope you need will depend upon what type of DSO you wish to photograph.  Some galaxies are very large in the scope (because they are nearer to us) and some are extremely small.  If DSO is your thing then you are probably better off starting trying larger objects with a small focal length scope - because this is easier than long focal lengths.  (I say easier, but it is still very demanding.). Many people start off with an inexepensive 80mm scope such as an ED80.

BUT....

Before you spend any money, get hold of a book written by a chap who shows up regularly on here called Steve Richards (user name steppenwolf).  The book is called 'Making Every Photon Count'.  The few quid invested in this will repay itself several fold.  

Good luck.

For planetary imaging, aperture is king. For deep sky, you'll want a fast focal ratio (low f/number) to get the most light onto your sensor.

As gnomus has said above, you will want different sorts of cameras for both types, too.