Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Getting started EQ5...

John78

Hi,

Just for posterity, I've started my astronomy journeys - thanks to bottletopburly yesterday I acquired a EQ5 deluxe second hand - its what my budget would stretch to so for now it will have to do - I have an old Tasco 60mm refractor which I've put on it as I don't have another tube...

This morning I've breadboarded an AstroEQ using a mega2650 - which works, I've got a pair of steppers, belts and timing pulleys (I need to shrink the ID of the big pulley tomorrow!) - so then I should be setup for stellarium goto, all the software is talking and the motor appears to be spinning on the table...

20160228_103510.jpg

eqmod.jpg

I've stripped and modified a microsoft life cam HD (£17 ebay) which focus' on the Tasco - the zoom is significantly more than I was expecting with no eyepiece but that's just me being a noob I guess.

20160228_105408.jpg

So tomorrow when I go to work and have access to the electronics lab I will make a shield for the mega so I can make a more permanent interface for EQ5 - AstroEQ - EQMOD, make the brackets for the new motors then hopefully some point next week I will just put my OMD-5 onto the Tasco and be able to take some guided wide-field shots until I decide on the telescope which is still an ongoing thought process yesterday I was fairly set on a SW80ED, today I'm thinking a 130PDS is significantly better value and almost equally capable although more hassle setting up.

Exciting times none the less - especially if the cloud forecast is correct later for clearing up around 7pm.

John.

• 2 weeks later...

Had a few delays because of having too much work to do at work - but today I've finished putting sleeves in the pulleys (52T), boring out the motor pulleys (14T) and mounted the diy astroeq into a box with soldered harnesses - and I've tested and set it all up.