Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Post processing Lode star X 2 C images ... ?

Astrith

Hello .

I am a very complete newbie to Lodestar X2 C.  Very slowly achieving some results . Not perfect , but a lot better from where i was two weeks since. I have managed to file quite a few FIT files from last nights session . The question is how would I process these . Would I be able to use Photo shop or Startools .  Or is this akin to mixing chalk and cheese.  My head is spinning with the steep learning curve required , Any pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated . I am currently searching and trawling through these forums, but rather blindly at the moment. Best regards. Alan.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi

If you're using windows you could have a look at Deep Sky Stacker - this will accept the FITS files and align and stack them for you:

http://deepskystacker.free.fr/english/index.html

There's plenty of tutorial on how to use Deep Sky Stacker and plenty on SGL that will offer help too.

Once you have a stacked image them you can tweak the output using your favourite photo editor - however this is in the realms of astro photography so you may be better posting in the appropriate forum.

HTH

Paul

Hi Alan

I think the advice some were giving you earlier when suggesting that you save some FITs is to reload them into StarlightLive itself so you can play with the controls?

If this is indeed what you want to do, the how-to is in this post from Paul (its the only one I could find though it is a year old, but I imagine the options still work).

Martin

3 hours ago, DoctorD said:

Hi

If you're using windows you could have a look at Deep Sky Stacker - this will accept the FITS files and align and stack them for you:

http://deepskystacker.free.fr/english/index.html

There's plenty of tutorial on how to use Deep Sky Stacker and plenty on SGL that will offer help too.