Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Starting out with imaging

Good evening everyone.

Ok so I am a novice in astronomy and astrophotography so I'm wondering if I can get some tips and pointers ! :)

I have got myself a sky watcher skymax 127 GOTO and a dslr nikon 3300 I absolutely love nebular and all things spacey <<< :p so I've done a pic of orion nebular before ( pic uploaded ) not very good in my opinion

I guess what I'm asking is 

#1 how can I take clearer pictures

#2 how can I get more close up pictures 

#3 what am I doing wrong I guess lol 

Any tips and pointers would be most appreciated 

Thank you everyone 

FB_IMG_1456181628609.jpg

What are you doing wrong?

Imaging with a f/12 scope, you need a faster scope.
Imaging with an ALT AZ mount, you need an EQ mount.

Although it is possible to image with what you have, it's far from ideal and not easy.
Ultimately you want a mount that you can guide and a scope thats f/7 or better.

I'm not so sure you need to get closer to a lot of nebulae, a lot of them are quite big and
most of the time you will fight to get all of it on the sensor anyway.

Unfortunately wxsatuser has hit the nail(s) on the head.

While an alt-az mount tracks the sky it does not acknowledge the fact that Orion, for instance, rises leaning to the east and sets leaning to the west. This is called field rotation.

DSLRs need a fast focal ratio to work well. A one minute exposure at F4 would need nine minutes at F12. See the difference? Ouch. F12 is not a deep sky F ratio.

DS imaging is not so much about 'getting closer' so much as going deeper.  Many DS objects are very large indeed.

Olly

:( feeling rather disheartened now because i thought as a complete novice i had bought a good scope and camera.

anyway never mind i am connecting the camera to the back of the scope using a T-Ring adapter