Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro and HEQ5 PRO combo?

I know this question has probably been asked a thousand times before but here goes 1001…

I’m new to astrophotography (I’m actually new to any form of astronomy) and am considering the above rig as a starting setup.  The idea would be to eventually add CCD, auto-guiding etc. at a later date as budget allows.

What are people’s opinions of the Skywatcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro and HEQ5 PRO combo? I will initially be using my old Nikon D200 work-horse un-guided while I play around and learn the ropes.  Another question I have is around the probable max length exposures I could reasonably expect to achieve with this rig?

Many thanks, O wise ones!

I was asking the same question around this time last year, and the general consensus was that the 80ED and HEQ5 is a great setup to start with. I couldn't decide between a reflector or the 80ED, but the refractor allows more payload room to spare if you do decide to add guiding/CCD later on.

I've not regretted getting mine at all, even though the weather hasn't allowed me to use it anywhere near as much as I would have liked!

You may want to look at getting the field flattener for the scope as well. This will prevent distortion at the edges of the field. I got one when I ordered everything, so I couldn't tell you how bad it is without.

Can't edit my post, so double posting!

The exposure length will be as good as your polar alignment. I can get 2 minutes unguided with round stars, though I haven't yet tried many shots beyond that length.

The latest firmware has a polar alignment option on the handset to make it easier to do.