NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie question

Evening everyone

First serious post after saying hi.

Now I'm sure this has been asked a few times. I'm a complete beginner in all of the sky observing. I had a telescope when I was a kid, but short of looking at the moon and Orion, I never ventured further afield. Now, 20 (cough) odd years on I want to take it a bit more seriously.

Now as a newbie what would you guys recommend? Should I start off with a decent pair of binoculars to get used to scanning the sky and working out what is what, or go straight to a telescope?

I've been stalking the Sky-Watcher website and for around my budget (£100 maybe a little bit more) I've come across the Sky-Watcher Capricorn-70 which seems like it could do the job of getting me started. It has a focal length of 900mm, which reading on here seems to be good (please correct me if I'm wrong!)

What are you opinions?

Thanks in advance! :icon_biggrin:

Jamie

Hi,

IMHO, I would spend just a little money on a pair of 10x50 Binos, and save hard for the scope. You'd be amazed what you can see with binos, and you will learn loads about the night sky as you can see so, so much more than with the naked eye.

Check out the excellent site Binocular sky, and read a few reviews.

From my short time on here I have managed to pick up this little nugget.... the SW 150/200p dobsonians are good enough to remain your main scope for years. I don't have one.....yet!

One thing is certain, you will receive loads of help on here.

ATB

Bob

The Capricorn is f12+ so chromatic aberration shouldn't be a problem. It's maybe a little low on light gathering but should give reasonable magnification - 90x with a 10mm eyepiece for instance. Does it come with an alt az mount. That's best for visual generally IMHO. Don't forget it's virtually a 3" refractor which back in the day was into serious scope territory.