Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie astro photo questions

mikey2000

Forgive me for asking such silly questions here - I'm such a newbie that I don't even have the correct vocabulary to do a sensible search.....  I've tried our friend G**gle.com but I have a feeling that astrophotography is so complex that I'm left even more confused than when I started !!!!!

This is such a friendly and well informed site that I thought nobody would mind too much if i asked here :icon_biggrin:

Here's the background...

I'm a keen photographer with SLR, DSLR and mirroless kit.  For my christmas, I received a skywatcher 130P with an EQ2 mount and a RA motor.  I have 10mm and 25mm eyepieces that came packaged with the telescope, bought from the wonderful people at FLO.

I've not had too many clear nights yet (Bedfordshire UK) but i'm enjoying the telescope already - I even managed a reasonably good polar alignment!  Being a photographer, I cant resist the urge to attach my camera....

So, can anyone advise me on what I need to do to attach my Sony A6000 (E-mount, NEX style camera) to the telescope?   Do I attach it directly to the telescope?  The focus unit on the scope seems to have some threads - is this a "T Mount"?  Will I need extension tubes to achieve focus?   How then do I change magnification? Do I leave one of the 10mm or 25mm eye pieces in place?

I'm flummoxed!

Or maybe I should be piggy backing the camera on to the telescope somehow.  I have DSRL lenses up to 200mm/f2.8 and 400mm/5.6.  Maybe I should be moving a piggy backed camera with the motor drive on the EQ2.   But how then to get close up pics of the moon and distant objects?   A piggy backed camera wouldn't take advantage of that great big parabolic mirror in my 130P telescope.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome to SGL...

Yeah, the thread on your focusser should accept a T-Mount for your DSLR.