Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Total Noob with a pair of binocular's....

Hi all :cat: I have got an interest in whats out there, its just a slight interest - but im curious!

I have a quick read through some of the forum & after i seen a pair "recommended" (i use that term loosely), i picked up a pair of 10x50 Bresser's from Lidl's for £11 odd - its a start i suppose :cat:

Im just wondering, and its the most noob of questions, what could i expect to see using these?

Any hints or tips would be greatly appreciated as we are having some lovely clear nights over here in Northern Ireland lately.

Kind regards :shocked:

stellarium is a great download on the computer to help you see exactly what is in the night sky at any time (just search for stellarium its a free programme),it will help you with the constelllations etc etc

other guys with those binos will tell you the limit of viewing with them

but their are going to be plenty of open clusters and even messiers objects to be seen

I have a pair of those bressers, and they are a pretty good pair. Have a look at "Stargazing with Binoculars" published by Philips (My Review, I can't find it in the reviews section here at the moment). It's got sketches of what to expect to see and some targets that are quite easy to see in Binoculars listed. If you take a quick look here, this has my first couple of outings with Binos detailed. I've used them quite a few times since getting a scope to look at Melotte 111, M44 The Beehive cluster (probably a bit low in the sky now) and others.

HTH

Irish Federation of Astronomical Societies

Binocular Certificate Handbook

How to see 110 extraordinary celestial sights with an ordinary pair of binoculars.

I have this handbook in pdf form if your interested. Send me a private message with your email address and i'll send you a copy as its too big a file to upload here. It should give you an excellent start to observing with Binos

:shocked: