Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Microsoft Lifecam mod housing

jooli_ash

Hello,

I am hoping to undertake the seemingly popular Microsoft lifecam webcam modification using Gary Honis' instructions.

As a complete novice to astrophotography and webcams, I am looking around for suitable housing for the unit, and come across this 1.25" Extension Tube Eyepiece Telescope Mount Adapter for DSLR SLR Camera DC636 on Ebay

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-25-Extension-Tube-Eyepiece-Telescope-Mount-Adapter-for-DSLR-SLR-Camera-DC636-/272036397018?hash=item3f56a1ffda:g:UfwAAOSwu-BWOfoo

Will this adaptor be OK for this?  Gary H uses 2 eyepiece extenders and a T ring (not really sure what a T ring is to be honest), but this piece of kit on ebay looks as if it might do the job in one go, although difficult to tell as no dimensions.

Thanks for any help!

Long time ago we did one of these based on the Gary Honis instructions.  I am sure it will fit into the linked ebay item.

I can remember the lifecam coming to bits a bit easier than Gary suggests, an interesting project, but found the software control of the settings difficult - gain/brightness/contrast etc.

We use a T ring to adapt a DSLR camera to a threaded nosepiece (the smaller part of the linked item), the T ring has to suit the camera - Canon, Nikon, most makes, so are sold as separate items.

Thanks Mick,

yes I hope to use the chromebook, although webcam has just arrived today so haven't actually tested it yet.

It's all an experiment, so obviously I am trying to minimise the costs in case it doesn't work out.

I'll try the camera just normally first, and if it works get the above part and try my luck.

If it doesn't work on my chromebook, expect to see the webcam (possibly modified) on ebay soon!

Cheers,

Julian