NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

DSLR Imaging Setup

JohnSadlerAstro

Hi,

I've been doing loads of research recently, and I've found that I can get all the things that I need for a basic DSLR imaging setup for a total cost of around £130, could you just give any advice/suggestions on the equipment I've chosen, please, as I'm new to Astrophotography?

Here's what I'm thinking of getting:

1.)  'Unmodded' Canon EOS 400d DSLR

2.)  'Power-Up' LCD Digital Timer Shutter Release Remote Control (compatible with all Canon EOS's)

3.)  XCSOURCE T2 Ring for Canon EOS Camera Lens Adapter + 1.25" Telescope Mount

I'm planning to use the DSLR with a Barlow attached, so that's why I'm getting a 1.25" Telescope Mount adapter as well as Camera to T-ring, as I can just slot the camera into the Barlow, and then into the eyepiece barrel. My intended targets are clusters, open and globular, brighter galaxies and, if possible, planetary nebulae. I may get the camera 'modded' in the future so that I can image nebulae better, as well as getting a refractor OTA that will go on my current mount (a motorized EQ2) and will take the cam without having to use a Barlow so that I can image larger diffuse nebulae and open clusters.

My equipment is a Skywatcher Explorer 130 (the 900mm focal length one)--there's not enough inwards focus, hence the Barlow-- on a motorized EQ2 mount. I've mastered the concept of drift alignment, though I'm not quite sure what my current accuracy is--I reckon its enough for exposures of around 30-45 seconds.

JOHN