NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Leads and cables. How long can I go?

Jimtom

Apologies if this has been asked before [i can't believe it hasn't] but how long is it feasible to make leads and cables between a 'scope/ mount and a lap-top?

As a newbie I've been happy on the few occasions I've had clear skies , since getting the new gear, staying out down the garden for hours on end but I'm starting to think that come the cold nights I'd rather be indoors.

My gear needs to be about 30 - 40 feet away from the nearest door/window so my question is, "Is it do-able?" or is that length of cable going to attenuate the signals too much?

Thanks in advance.

Jim

I run 10 m active USB leads from my laptop to the camera and guide scope. I have not tried longer or daisy chaining these.

The lead to the mount is standard CAT5 from the handset: I have used a 20 m length (all I had to hand!) with no issues and I'm sure it will go longer.

The real bonus, though, is the directional WiFi antenna that I put inside a window of my house pointing towards the telescope/laptop, which is easily over 30 m from the house. Once I've go a proper focus going on, I can whip the Bahtinov mask out, retreat to the comfort of my study* and run proceedings from there using windows remote desktop. :) This works absolutely fine with a link speed of only about 12-15 Mb/s.

* The spare bedroom.

I've happily used 5m USB cables without any perceived problems - presumably you will need to use higher quality cable the longer you go - might be worth exploring the options of running a permanent cable to the area you use, so you can be assured it is of high quality and only have short runs from the exterior socket to the outside kit....I presume this is possible, although I am no expert!

I also have thermal clothing.....

:-)

Like Mr Monkey I too use Windows Remote Desktop or Chrome RD. For controlling your equipment from a distance it is the most reliable solution.