SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Jupiter!

Jimbob

well, I know there's pretty much no one alive at this time of the morning but I couldnt sleep and I've been up since 3 :angry:

So I decided to have a look outside and found that it was an incredibly clear, dark sky and shining away brilliantly to the south east (conveniently the way my bedroom window faces) was Jupiter!

You may not think that this a big deal but I'm new to this and it's the first time I've seen it :(. Had a look through the binos and I can only imagine how good it must look through a telescope! the sun is just rising just now and I can still see it :)

Very happy Jamie this morning :p

Good for you, Jimbob.

It's really good to grab the 5 or 10 minutes when it pops up ahead of the sun - even though it is low it is magnificent! Better than waiting till 2009 or 10!

AG

well as I said it was completely coinsidental that it happened lol but as soon as I looked out I just thought "Yeah it must be.." then I checked on Stellarium and I was right lol. Was pretty damn bright!

I`ll never forget the first time i saw it, been my favorite object ever since. DSOs are great but lets be honest which object NEVER looks the same twice!!! Well done mate, you`ll be hooked the first time you see in through a scope!!

PC :angry:

you're right about that - I remember the first time I saw it through a scope as well. I was just small and it changed the way I saw everything. I think it is the defining moment of addiction for quite a lot of astronomers....

• 3 weeks later...

Jupiter for me is amazing,surface detail keeps changing ,4 galilean moons ever changing positions,a few years back when it was higher in the sky i would spend night upon night viewing Jupiter,just have to patient for another couple of years till the planet "climbs"the sky again.