Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EPs,fov, vignetting, widevision and long focal length refractors

Hi all

I'm new to the game but I've been having an interesting pm with Charl about long focal length refractors e.g. 5"/1200 etc. We were discussing the new 2.5" hex focuser in the Bressers and Explore Sci scopes as compared with the standard 2" ones. The blurb says that in faster scopes the 2.5" gets rid of any vignetting issues.  I am interested in the long focal length frac  but had read on here somewhere that the widevision ES EPs (70. 82 degrees etc.) were ok/good in long focal length scopes - this is right?

So I'd be interested to know what people make of this - I've heard that you get vignetting in fast reflectors etc. - but I hadn't heard about the diameter of the focuser itself being key.

cheers good folks

Jeff

Hi Jeff,

Are we talking about imaging or visual use here ?

As I understand it, for visual use, the only time you will get vignetting of a wide field eyepiece is where something in front of it in the optical train has a smaller diameter than the eyepiece field stop.

An example of this would be if you used an adapter to put a 2" eyepiece into a 1.25" focuser or diagonal. The inside diameter of the 1.25" drawtube would be smaller than the field stop of, say, a 30mm eyepiece with an 82 degree apparent field so there would be some vignetting of the field of view.

Hope that makes some sense !

Hi John,

Thanks, yes that does make sense!

I'm thinking mainly visual yes - with maybe taking some point and shoot as a quick record rather than proper AP

So, if I've got you right ,a 1.25 EP into an 1.25 diagonal into a 2.5"  fat hex drawtube causes no probs; similalrly a 82 deg 1.25 EP into a 1.25 adapter, into a 2" diagonal into a 2" drawtube also causes no probs??