Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Barnard 72 The Snake

juliangeorgeshaw

This is my first substantive SGL post but I have been lurking for years. In that time I have acquired a huge amount of helpful information from SGL by reading posts from Olly Penrice, Harry Page, Steve Richards, Sara Wager and many others, thank you. So it's about time I posted myself.

I am a graduate of the Olly Penrice College of off-the-deep-end Astro Imaging. Seriously I don't think there is a better way to get started than to take your gear to Olly's place. (Olly is also good for astronomy theory, for a small amount extra we got 5x2hour sessions on modern astronomy which kept the attention of the whole family, Olly is a gifted teacher).

This image of The Snake was inspired by an image of the same object posted by Olly some time ago. Olly was shooting through the muck on the horizon but I had no such excuse. I packed my Tak Baby Q and an HEQ5 into 2 suitcases and went to New Zealand where The Snake was high in the sky (though there are no snakes actually in New Zealand). John Drummond very kindly let me set up my gear at his Possum Observatory near Gisborne.

http://www.possumobservatory.co.nz/

But I forgot to swith on the Atik 450's cooler!! Fortunately it was cool anyway (10-15 deg C) and the 460 is low noise...

Full resolution:

I processed it by muddling through PixInsight with the help of Harry's videos (not that he is to blame for the result!). I can't remember what I did but if I couldn't manage to get a process to improve the result I just backed it out.
All comments welcome, especially critical ones.

post-24339-0-60805000-1440070729_thumb.j

Hey, Julian, great to see you post an image - and a good one to boot! And thanks for your approval of our efforts here.

I like it (the image, that is.)