Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Autoguide whilst using SynScan

Hello,

Currently I am still a realive noob, and am still attached to my synscan. I do however have an autoguider that I want to start using based on the QHY5L-II. Can I still use the SynScan plugged in to my mount, and the Guider seperately connected to the ST4 port and computer running either Metaguide or PHD ? I think simply put, - can i still use the GoTo of the SynScan, but seperately use the autoguider\PHD to guide.

I also think my confussion is around telescope mount contol, for which i would need the ASCOM drivers. As a side, I have used EQMOD and Stellarium Scope to control my mount, but I am just happy using Synscan at the moment. So when the  guider documentation says that I need ASCOM drivers to support PulseGuide for example, is it simply talking about having the divers intalled on the laptop (which I do). Or maybe another way is how can I do an "ASCOM connect" to my mount, if the SynScan unit is plugged in to the port ?

Thanks

Alistair

maybe this is what i need to do ... ?

Connect RS-232 cable to the SynScan control panel using the available slot on the bottom. Then connect the COM to the COM/USB adapter, and that to the computer. To control the mount you need to use the ASCOM drivers (Celestron Unified for SkyWatcher and Celestron mounts).

so i guess I am going 'through' the handset to make use of the ASCOM drivers ..... ?

It is so confusing.... I still don't have it straight in my head.... but as I recall, I have the QHY guide cam connected to the ST4 port on the mount and the PC via USB.... the Synscan handset is connected to the PC through a usb/serial arrangement but is in PC Direct mode and the ASCOM, PHD guiding software running on PC.

Too complex by far!

Kropster ... that's I think how I see it too. So I need to use PC Direct mode ? - I need to read up on that.

Thanks

Alistair

I think PC Direct mode.... if it doesn't work, I just try changing it!