Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Starting Out (Again) - Lightweight or Tabletop Scopes

Hi everyone!

Although I have experience with stargazing through binoculars, I'm still a relative beginner with telescopes.

You gave me some great advice last year on a scope I was looking at, but unfortunately, life took over and I had to put everything on the back burner and had to put off buying it. However, I'm in a better position now and on the hunt again.

Due to my current health, height and weight, I feel I would be best with a smaller/lighter scope now and have been looking at tabletops, although I'm very open to suggestions!

I'm looking at scopes around f/5 and will be mainly having short viewing sessions at the moment.

I'm mainly hovering around the:

Skywatcher 114p Virtuoso (F/5) Tabletop

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/heritage/skywatcher-heritage-114p-virtuoso.html

Skywatcher 130p Flexitube (F/5) Tabletop

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes/skywatcher-heritage-130p-flextube.html

I guess the benefits of the 114p are the tracking, the fact I can use my tripod with it if needed...and I can remove the scope and put my Canon 700D on it...which is kinda handy I guess.

The benefits of the 130p would be the extra half inch.

I just wondered if any of you had used the 114p and how you'd found it? I understand the 130p is quite highly regarded and quite a good beginners scope.

Although bigger, heavier and more expensive, I do like the look of the Skywatcher Star Discovery 150P with GoTo and tracking, but that's likely too big at the moment.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/az-goto/sky-watcher-star-discovery-150p.html

Any advice would be gratefully received! :)

(which can go BOING! just when you don't want them to)

Boing!! Haha love it!