Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Real time or not?

As a complete newbie and totally ignorant of all things astrological and celestial, please forgive what to most will be a really stupid question.

When I am looking at the moon is it in real time, as in when I look at my car on the drive for example?

Light years is something that I get the gist of but find hard to translate into something tangible in my mind, other than seeing something on the horizon and although I can see it i know that it will take me a while to get there (if my analogy make any senses at all to anyone else).

Christine

When watching cricket on the village green you'll see the batsman swing and strike the ball but there will be a delay before you hear the whack, because light travels faster than sound. All information takes time to travel from its source to you, whether by sound, by light, by letter, or however. So no information passes instantaneously from one place to another and 'real time' observation doesn't exist anywhere. The reason this is more obvious in astronomy is simply because of the distances involved.

The sun is about 8 light minutes away. The next star beyond the sun is about four and a quarter light years away. Astronomy is the antidote to claustrophobia...

Olly

Thank you Olly,

I like the analogy that you have given. That makes sense, even to me.

I had never thought in terms of '...no observation is in 'real time'..' before. By definition I suppose it cant be.

Is a knowledge of light speed essential as part of this interest?

Christine

Christine

Don't know about essential, but when you look at, say, Andromeda M31 and realise that  the light you're observing it by left there millions (billions?) of years ago and has travelled that long, as Qualia so memorably described it, to make it into your eyeball....well, certainly adds interest!