NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Celestron Edge HD 8 "

Gan

I am pretty sure this topic is not new in the forum, but I was unable to find anwers for my problem.

When I bought my Celestron the seller recommended Celestron Off Axis Guide and QHY5L II for astrophotography. My interest is in taking good photos of nebulae.

I am a beginner and I find it very difficult to get my head round how to use the autoguider for better tracking.  In fact I am not even able to capture a single star ( using PHD software) so far. I contacted my seller who insists that OAG is the best with SCT scopes ( as opposed to finderscope) for using autoguider in view of long focal lengths ( 1000), and he argues that to get a good effect with a finderscope autoguding I would need at least half the focal length of the main scope which means a very long and heavy finderscope/guide scope.

As you can see I am a bit lost and would be very grateful for help and direction from experts. Please help

I haven't done DSO imaging for a while but I did some imaging with a C11. I tried with an ST80 guide scope (very light) and that was sort of okay but often I had problems guiding. Things got better when I switched to an off axis guider.

So my conclusion would be, it can be done with a short guide scope, but personally I would go for off axis guider for an SCT, it can rule out a bunch of potential issues.

That said, an SCT and guide scope is not the easiest setup to tame, and even more so an SCT and off axis guider. I am glad that I had some imaging experience behind me before I tried it, I would not recommend it as a starter setup generally unless you feel confident and like a challenge.

Are you using the 0.7x reducer? At F10 prime focus again it will be that bit tougher...

IF funds allow, I would consider getting something like an ED80 scope and get going with that, you can return to the SCT later and that might be handy for sneaking in closer on objects.